To drop or not to drop - Long series that lost its touch

This forum is for Anime related discussion

Moderators: Fringe Security Bureau, Senior Editors, Senior Translators, Alt. Language Translator/Editor, Executive Council, Project Translators, Project Editors

Kinny Riddle
Senior Project Translator
Favourite Light Novel:

To drop or not to drop - Long series that lost its touch

Post by Kinny Riddle »

I'm referring to that ninja manga (N) and that grim reaper manga (B) respectively.

Back when I was a horny university undergraduate, I simply followed what everyone else followed. First series N when it first aired in 2002, and then series B in 2004.

In fairness to their authors, the beginning does feel inspiring, but that was it. It feels like a rich girl being fooled into marrying a dashing poor guy with all his empty promises, and then realize life after marriage isn't what it seems.

Now I no longer prescribe to the "popular = good" maxim, and watch what I want to watch, not because everyone is watching it.

My current anime "portfolio" contains series that interest me, save for series N and B, which hoards up plenty of my precious time, getting in the way of me watching the other "better" series.

I feel like divorcing. But I've spent years giving so much, hoarding up so many volumes of manga, and burning loads of DVD-ROMs, that it feels like a waste to give up after so long.

But eventually it has to stop, and I think the time will be soon.

For both series, I will continue to collect manga volumes for this year, after that, I will only read raws off the internets, and only go back to collecting the whole lot once they're both completed (hopefully within the next decade).

As for their respective animes:

Series N: Last I saw, Itachi and Jiraiya died. So maybe I'll watch till Naruto avenges Jiraiya in his fight against Pain and that's it. Or if they ever enter into fillers, then I'll stop right there.