Kyons name/nickname

General discussion related to the Suzumiya Haruhi novel series

Moderators: thelastguardian, Fringe Security Bureau, Senior Editors, Senior Translators, Alt. Language Translator/Editor, Executive Council, Project Translators, Project Editors

ohsotired
Astral Realm

Kyons name/nickname

Post by ohsotired »

Hi, im new to the series and this site, so im sorry if this has been asked/answered before. I did a search and came up empty.

Whats the deal with Kyons name? Does it have a meaning? Is it a version of his real name name, like calling some one named william--- bill? Is it like calling someone shorty or champ or something?
onizuka-gto
Editor-in-Chief
Favourite Light Novel: Suzumiya Haruhi
Mahouka koukou no Rettousei
No Game No Life
Mushoku Tensei
Mother of Learning

Post by onizuka-gto »

nope.....and nope...kyon is like calling someone called paul, "Borat".

It has nothing to do with their real names, or anything to do with their physical appearance, its just something that stuck.

p.s. And yes, thats a real nickname, in fact its the nickname of my bestmate.

And no. I have no idea why he calls himself that. He doesn't even like Ali G....

:roll:
"Please note, we have added a consequence for failure.Any contact with the chamber floor will result in an unsatisfactory mark on your official test record, followed by death. Good luck."

@Onizukademongto
typhonsentra
Astral Realm

Post by typhonsentra »

I always thought it might connect to his real name. Like the beginning of his given name starts with "Ky" and his family name starts with "On". Something like.... "Kyosuke Onizuka"? This is just my own theory, the name has to come from something or somewhere. I doubt it was just a random thing his aunt came up with.
fancyasians
Astral Realm

Post by fancyasians »

i love saying kyon, it's a fun name to say. i think the other characters in the show love to say it as well :D