Creating a Website

All non Baka-Tsuki related topics

Moderators: thelastguardian, Fringe Security Bureau, Senior Editors, Senior Translators, Alt. Language Translator/Editor, Executive Council, Project Translators, Project Editors

b0mb3r
Taiga's Sword
Favourite Light Novel:

Creating a Website

Post by b0mb3r »

Well since I have very little skill in making websites and I know there are some programmers here in the forum I would like some help. Which program would you recommend to use that has an easy learning curve? Which program is the most sophisticated in terms of making a website looking professional. Where do you buy domain names and which web host do you recommend to buy?

baka baka baka
ainsoph9
Osaka-ben Gaijin-Sama
Favourite Light Novel: Ahouka!

Re: Creating a Website

Post by ainsoph9 »

I am no expert here, but DreamWeaver seems to be fairly standard as a web design program. However, it is insanely expensive. A quick search via Google should reveal some cheaper alternatives that work just as well.
EusthEnoptEron
Project Translator

Post by EusthEnoptEron »

If you just want to have a nice-looking website, you're probably best advised to just get a CMS or Wordpress with some neat design—you'll find enough of them. If you want something more personal, you can still adjust and mix them to your liking.
If you want to "click together" your website yourself, well, DreamWeaver. It's by Adobe after all. ;) If you're good at your graphics editing program, I guess you can create nice designs rather easily. I've never used it myself, but it seems to serve as a good editor as well, so it's probably a good albeit expensive and slightly overloaded choice.
If you want to get yourself some HTML-hax0rz skills, just press CTRL+R, enter "notepad" and press enter. No, seriously though, if you want to actually write the code yourself, just google for an editor (PSPad, Notepad++, Eclipse, Vim, etc...) and an online tutorial. There are lots of them.