Lyrics or Sound

This forum is for Music & Culture related discussion

Moderators: Fringe Security Bureau, Senior Editors, Senior Translators, Alt. Language Translator/Editor, Executive Council, Project Translators, Project Editors

Rectifier
Astral Realm

Lyrics or Sound

Post by Rectifier »

Like the title states, which of the two do you prefer/pay more attention to in music?

95% of the time, I focus on the sound because I'm a musician, now obviously voices add their own sound that blends in with the music, but I typically judge the sound while incorporating the vocal work but not the actual meanings of the vocals.

That being said. I don't think screamer bands are good, ever. Why? Because I don't like harsh, loud, incomprehensible words thrust at me when I listen to music. Synopsis: Some yelling is OK, especially to convey special meaning or add a sound comparison to regular singing, but constant yelling is a no-no just like any other constant singing, it gets boring! Dynamics are good, stagnant complacency is bad.

Hell, even dynamic yelling is better than the crappy screamer bands I listened to for a couple months about 2 years ago.

Now the other 5% of the time I do listen for lyrics and meaningful phrases in songs. Why? Because when that 5% occurs, it is likely I already know that song very well in terms of its sound both instrumentally and vocally. Also, I usually know the words of the lyrics and want to try and understand the artist's intent better when they chose those words to sing.