Translation of "society"

Discuss all translation related problems here or just help your fellow comrade to improve their lingual skills

Moderators: Fringe Security Bureau, Senior Editors, Senior Translators, Alt. Language Translator/Editor, Executive Council, Project Translators, Project Editors

sverremunthe
Vice Commander Itsuki
Favourite Light Novel: White Album 2

Translation of "society"

Post by sverremunthe »

Not sure about the Kanji for this, but as an editor I often come across this word and feel that it isn't the correct way to say it in English. Maybe they look at you as coming into society when you finish school, in Japan, but in the western world this seems ridiculous (at least for me), so what's a better way to translate it? Or is the word used just because we don't have a phrase that compare, in English?
Sverre
Cthaeh
Yuki-Nagator
Favourite Light Novel:

Re: Translation of "society"

Post by Cthaeh »

It'd probably be good to list a few examples of what you're talking about, or at least describe the general context; I probably don't have an answer for you anyways, but at the moment I'm not sure what kind of usage of society you're referring to.
sverremunthe
Vice Commander Itsuki

Post by sverremunthe »

Cthaeh wrote:It'd probably be good to list a few examples of what you're talking about, or at least describe the general context; I probably don't have an answer for you anyways, but at the moment I'm not sure what kind of usage of society you're referring to.
Just an example.
"You are about to finish high school now and enter the society, my son."
My answer would have been "What are you talking about, haven't I always been a part of the society?"
Sverre
KLSymph
Project Translator
Favourite Light Novel:

Post by KLSymph »

My answer would have been "What are you talking about, haven't I always been a part of the society?"