possible new translator.

Discuss all translation related problems here or just help your fellow comrade to improve their lingual skills

Moderators: Fringe Security Bureau, Senior Editors, Senior Translators, Alt. Language Translator/Editor, Executive Council, Project Translators, Project Editors

neocarbunkle
Astral Realm

possible new translator.

Post by neocarbunkle »

Hi everyone, my name is Ben and I am kind of putting feelers out there to see if starting a project is something that I might want to do.

I have lived in Japan for almost 4 years and I passed JLPT N1 about a year and a half ago. I studied really hard leading up to that test but once I passed I kind of shifted my studying time to other things. My girlfriends mom keeps nagging me to polish up my Japanese a little bit more so I can use it more fully in a future job, which she does have a good point. I did fan subs for a 13 episode series a few years ago but I really did not like the idea that I had to rush to get my translation out before some other group got their translation out (how many version of the same thing did we need?)

I kind of searched around the wiki and the forum but I am not completely sure on everything. Since it is a wiki, will people read over what I wrote and fix up typos or what not? I have book stores minutes from my house, do I just go and pick something up or is there more of a method to it? (I know you have to avoid licensed series)

Also are there deadlines and schedules that need to be kept? My only real hesitation right now is the time management with everything else going on in my life.

Sorry if I am asking the same questions that always get asked.

thanks
cramped
Project Translator
Favourite Light Novel: Ahouka!

Re: possible new translator.

Post by cramped »

Just go for it sarge. This place is a volunteer community. Though I am in no place to say this lol since I am new here.
Patron God of NTRed
rpapo
I.D.S.E Humanoid Interface [LSB]

Post by rpapo »